Archive | News

RSS feed for this section

Mossley Members riding for Charity.


Three members and two riders who support Mossley on a few rides etc today took part in the Willow Wood “Big bike ride”, this was a challenging ride with a few tough short climbs around the back of Hartshead Pike and Berry Brow.

Albeit the ride distance was 20 mile, in total they rode 27 mile by the time they had got to the circuit and home, an average total of £300 was raised by the Mossley Three in sponsorship to support the Willow Wood hospice, which Mossley CRT worked closely with on a few occasions last year. Well done to Sue, Kirstie & Martin along with the support from Paul and Toby.

You can still donate to a great cause Willow Wood click.

Presentation Evening

This years Presentation Evening will be on Friday 4th March 2016.

Venue: Ashton Masonic Hall, Jowetts Walk, Manchester Road, Ashton Under Lyne, OL7 0BB.

Time: 7.30pm to 11.30pm

Cost: Adults £6   Youth £4

Contact: Fred or Mike for the tickets




At the recent committee meeting a date was set for the clubs Annual General Meeting which will take place at Ashton under Lyne Rugby Club, St. Albans Avenue, Ashton at 7.30pm on Friday 19th February 2016, all members are invited and could I ask that you please try to attend as its your club.
There is an issues on the agenda regarding the clubs constitution, which require notification of change, at present the clubs constitution reads,

1. Section 8c.
The Committee shall consist of at least three and not more than 8 members (including officers).

The proposal is to change it to

The Committee shall consist of a minimum of five members and a maximum of twelve (including officers) and the quorum for all committee meetings will be five members present.

As stated please try to attend and if I could ask can you let me know if you are attending as this will give me an idea of how many members to expect.



To All members

First of all, I would like to thank all the members , whether young or old, for your continued support over the last year.

During the last year we have seen the membership grow by approx. 10%, welcoming new members from very young to, shall we say, more mature cyclists.

Over the last year we have supported and sponsored our riders in the Isle of Man and as far as Italy.
Our cycling sessions on a Wednesday evening are proving to be more popular with more cyclist taking part in both our Go Ride Sessions and the later session for the more experienced riders.
Over the winter the indoor cycling sessions have proved to be very popular with most evenings being fully booked.

Over the next year the club will continue to support it riders and members, by continuing with the indoor cycling sessions, which then lead onto, British Cycling qualified coaching at the Tameside Track on our Wednesday night sessions.

Your current membership expires on 31st December 2015 and I invite all members to renew their membership for the forthcoming year by the end of January 2016. By renewing your membership by this date we will hold the membership fees as of last year i.e.
Senior                                £15.00
Under 18                           £10.00
Social (Non rider)           £10.00
Family (See **below)     £30.00
Second Claim Senior      £10.00
Second Claim Under 18 £5.00

**Family membership includes all immediate family (parents and children under 18 years of age)

If you are a new member that has joined the club from 1st September 2015, then your membership will INCLUDE full 2016 membership.

An application form can be found on our website, which must be completed and forwarded to our membership secretary, Mr Martin Williamson, 22 Durham Drive, Ashton under Lyne, OL6 8BP, together with your remittance, with cheques made payable to Mossley Cycle Racing Team or to Mike Richter, Treasurer.
If membership is NOT renewed by 1st February 2016 then ALL benefits will not be available and the FULL cost of facilities e,g. Indoor Cycling Session will be payable £6.00 per session.

May I thank you for your continued support over the forthcoming year and wish our riders a very successful season.

New Domestique

Junior dommestique
Mossley have released a picture of a new domestique. Junior has been identified.

Manchester 100


Well done to all our team riders who endured the Manchester 100km and 100miles, and a big thanks to the parents who supported the club. We do look good in that kit! #eatmywheel

Leah Willcox gets 4th

Well done to Leah who managed 4th at the Scarborough Festival of Cycling. WELL DONE LEAH! 
Leah Scarborough Fest